The Beatitudes (Matthew 5:1-12)

  • Blessed are the poor in spirit, for theirs is the kingdom of heaven. (To be poor is to be without sufficient funds or the ability to properly care for yourself.  To be poor in spirit, is to be unable to spiritually care for yourself.)
  • Blessed are those who mourn, for they shall be comforted.
  • Blessed are the meek, for they shall inherit the earth. (The word meek means to be gentle or humble.)
  • Blessed are those who hunger and thirst for righteousness, for they shall be satisfied. (If you hunger and thirst for something, you would have an intense craving for it.)
  • Blessed are the merciful, for they shall receive mercy.
  • Blessed are the pure in heart, for they shall see God.
  • Blessed are the peacemakers, for they shall be called sons of God.
  • Blessed are those who are persecuted for righteousness’ sake, for theirs is the kingdom of heaven.
  • Blessed are you when others revile you and persecute you and utter all kinds of evil against you falsely on my account.  Rejoice and be glad, for your reward is great in heaven, for so they persecuted the prophets who were before you. (ESV)

To sum it up, to be blessed we should be:

  • Completely reliant on God spiritually, because we are poor in spirit
  • Comforted by God when we mourn
  • Gentile and humble in nature
  • Craving for righteousness
  • Willing to forgive and be merciful to others
  • Pure in heart
  • Peacemakers
  • Followers of God regardless of what others think or do, even if it leads to persecution




3 thoughts on “The Beatitudes (Matthew 5:1-12)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s